• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Monthly costs for a new Parrotlet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dreaming

Moving in
Real Name
Taylor
I'm about 5-minutes new to the forum, and I thought this would be a perfect forum to post a question I've had brewing for quite some time.

I've been preparing for getting a Parrotlet ever since I was about 12 years old, so it's been a gooood long while. I've looked up guides on what kinds of food they eat, how large a cage you're supposed to get, what kinds of toys to get, etc.

So here's my question. Soon i'll have about a grand saved to start buying the cage, initial toys, and various water-feeders and things. I wanted to make sure I know atleast how much I should have set aside once I finally buy my new Parrotlet [i'll probably try for one that's a couple weeks old] so that I know I can pay for the first 2-3 months worth of stuff. That way as I earn more money, I know how much I should have set aside per month at the very least.

Between food, new toys, possible health concerns, treats, and etc.--how much do you spend each month on a single Parrotlet? I'm not quite sure how much one of them eats each week, but I know about how much food costs out here where I live.

Any tips you think I might not know on raising a happy and healthy bird would be muchly appreciated!

allison

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Allison
I'd set aside at least $500 towards vet bills. Preferably more like $1000 in case the bird needs major medical treatment. This money should be available at all times in case of an emergency.
For a parrotlet I would recomend a single flight cage like the HQ flight or if you really want to spoil them, you can get them a double flight cage. :p
Single flights are usually around $150-160 double flights are usually around $230.