• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Meyer's parrot diet

MasterObli

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Meg
Hello! This is my first time posting on this site so forgive me if I'm putting this in the wrong spot.

My Meyer's parrot, Trinity, has been having some digestive issues lately. I took her to the vet earlier this month and they found a high yeast count and low good bacteria count in her droppings. They prescribed her some medicine and I left. The medicine worked as long as I kept giving it to her. I don't have the money to take her back to the vet yet (I will once May rolls around) and am wondering if there's anything I can try in the meantime. I bought some bird probiotics to try an help her get back on track.

She's not:
Regurgitating
Sleepy
Not hungry
Ruffles

Obviously I want to nip this in the bud before it really causes problems. Any advice is appreciated

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
What's her normal daily diet?

Was she diagnosed with Avian Gastric Yeast? That can be a long treatment, especially as they can reinfect themselves from perches, cages, and bowls if they are not disinfected.

You could try adding some apple cider vinegar to the water; 1 tsp to 16 oz of water. But watch to ensure they are drinking.

MasterObli

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Meg
What's her normal daily diet?

Was she diagnosed with Avian Gastric Yeast? That can be a long treatment, especially as they can reinfect themselves from perches, cages, and bowls if they are not disinfected.

You could try adding some apple cider vinegar to the water; 1 tsp to 16 oz of water. But watch to ensure they are drinking.