• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How to have a quiet(er) bird

trypcruz

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Charlie
I'm totally new to birds, and I don't have one yet, but my current plan is to have a quiet-ish** parrot in my apartment and to help with the quiet by preventing boredom. Ideally, I want to eventually feed my parrot 100% by foraging using a rotation of toys with varying difficulty.

1. How feasible is this?
2. Will this do anything to keep a parrot from being so loud?

**I don't mind a noisy parrot that talks/whistles/squeaks/chatters all day. I want to work to minimize loud screaming and high decibel sounds.

macawpower58

Flying along the Avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Shutterbugs' Best
:roflmao:

Good luck with that! Either you luck out, or you don't.
Each parrot is different, and many yell for the fun of it.
Others yell for attention.
And others for reasons you'll never know.

And sometimes you get a nice quiet parrot, but don't count on it, nor expect it.

Also, are you looking for budgie/cockatiel sized birds.
Or amazon/macaw/cockatoo sized birds.

The smaller ones can chatter all day.
The larger ones can rattle your windows and be heard down the street. ;)

And yes, foraging and toys help.

GoDucks

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Jamie
I'm totally new to birds, and I don't have one yet, but my current plan is to have a quiet-ish** parrot in my apartment and to help with the quiet by preventing boredom. Ideally, I want to eventually feed my parrot 100% by foraging using a rotation of toys with varying difficulty.

1. How feasible is this?
2. Will this do anything to keep a parrot from being so loud?

**I don't mind a noisy parrot that talks/whistles/squeaks/chatters all day. I want to work to minimize loud screaming and high decibel sounds.
e