• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How long do you have your fids away from their food?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Featherluv

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Stefanie
Since I'm fairly new to my birdies, I worry about having them out with us too long & causing them to starve! Of course once they are flighted they can judge for themselves. But for now, how long is safe to keep them away from their foods?

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
Well with Gizmo, I've found that she acts famished if she is away for 2 hours, so I try to make sure I check if she wants food or water every 30 minutes. If she is away from the birdroom, she doesn't want to leave my shoulder and eat :rolleyes:

For the Littles, I make sure their playstands in the living room always had fresh food and pellets and water, and they manage themselves :)

starreys

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Sarah
mine are all fully flighted/ but i reckon after 2 hours yours probably would want some food and water .

JAM

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
As the others have said, it's 2 hours at a max, however Millow needs feeding every 5 mins LOL. :D

secuono

Walking the driveway
Avenue Veteran
My guy just flies back when he's done hanging out or hungry.

Sharon

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Sharon
I think the water is probably most important. Fred and Levi are often away from food for two hours plus, but I do offer them water.