• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Foot injury

Holly O

Meeting neighbors
My linneolated parakeet fell from a toy at the top of her cage to the floor of her cage. She landed quite hard on her feet and now seems to be favouring one foot. I don't see any visible signs of injury, but I don't want to stress her out by removing her from her cage for a closer look.

I'm new to birds - how serious could this be? If it seems to stop in the next little bit, is she ok? How soon to see a vet? Thank you.

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
It may be good to take her out and have a closer look at the foot to see if there is any swelling or redness. If you don't see any improvement with the foot and her behavior changes then you want to take her to the vet.

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
It's just like with your child - he may not want to do something, but if it's for his welfare you make him do it. Take your baby out and look at BOTH FEET AND HER KEEL. Make sure something isn't broken and check for swelling and bruising on the keel area.

I would put her in a padded carrier cage, so she can be watched closely for awhile.

Beth In Alaska

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Beth