• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Finch claws getting too long

birdlover123

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Nick
Hi Everyone

I've got a few Java Finches in the aviary whose claws have become seriously long and I need a bit of advice on what items I could put in the aviary that would help mitigate the problem in a similar way as what happens in the wild.

They're not tame and I've never handled them since the day I got them. Also, I have no experience of claw-clipping and am scared that I'd hurt them.

Should I put a rough rock or something in there? Wooden branches don't seem to be helping. Any other effective solutions?

Thanks a lot for any advice.

Yoshi&Raphi

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Raphi
Pumice and cement perches can help but there claws may need to be clipped still eventually. Is there an avian vet nearby you that can do it if your uncomfortable?

birdlover123

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Nick
Thanks for your thoughts. I'll get a couple of perches.

And I'll try to do a bit of clipping but I need some more info on that. I'm not sure how much to clip off. Does the length that can be clipped increase with the overall length of the claw? In other words, if the claw is really long can more be clipped off than if the overall length is shorter? Or is the amount that can be clipped always the same regardless of the overall length of the claw? Thanks again.

Yoshi&Raphi

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Raphi
Thanks for your thoughts. I'll get a couple of perches.