• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Blue Fronted Amazon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dana64

Walking the driveway
Hello everyone...

I'm new to AA... but am fairly well-known on other forums, so some of you may know of me from there.

Tonight, I am adding a 10 year old Blue Fronted Amazon, named Charlie, to our flock.

I know NOTHING about this species, and I need to get up-to-speed, FAST! I own Macaws and African Greys. I am adopting a Greenwing, arriving tonight as well, and the owners requested that I take the BFA as well, since the 2 have been together their whole lives.

Charlie, is a "special needs" BFA. He has recurring "cloacal papilloma"... a mass was removed in 2005. He is vetted regularly at an extremely reputable avian clinic in Toronto and I will continue his care there as well.

I will be quarantining the GW and the BFA for at least 60 days and will have them vetted again, of course. I "googled" this disease last night and it sounds a little scary. At the same time, the GW is healthy, has never had cloacal papilloma and has been housed next to the BFA for the whole of their lives.

The BFA has been in remission for a few years now.

Does anyone here have any experience with this disease? What am I in for?

Also, anyone want to give me a "crash course/update" on the Blue Fronted Amazons???

:hug8:

Billie Faye

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Billie Faye
I have two BFA over 20 years old and both wild caught...
Boggie, the female, was 1 years old when we bought her at a pet store...she was my Christmas gift to Poppa and our first Large parrot...Knew NOTHING about them and didn't even buy a cage for her...She lived the first 5 years with us on a "tree" we put in our living room in the corner...She loves and still does Poppa!....