• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Bird Room Remodel

Alien J

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Janet Rush Van Eyck
Idk if I titled that correctly. As some of you know, we just recently bought a house. After living in under 200 sq ft in the RV for over 6 years I must say, I feel like I've walked miles when going from one end of the house to the other!

I have been promising TD a real bird room for a few years. Now I have 3 extra bedrooms to fulfill that promise. Each room is 8'11" x 12'7". Two have back to back closets which could be opened up to connect the two. I'm looking at a big remodel to make it totally bird safe and totally a bird habitat.

I was wondering if anyone has tried the new floating linoleum, or minoleum, I've heard it referred to. I've read some times you can put it right over the carpet.

I don't know what they painted the walls with, but it comes off on your hands. Probably not anything good. What's the best type of paint to use? Or should I invest in plexiglass?

Any insight, ideas, experiences anyone can share would be greatly appreciated.

Clueless

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge

CeciliaZ

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Cecilia
I don't know about that particular flooring. I used LVT flooring in my bird room and in most of the rooms in my home. The carpet was removed and the flooring was able to be placed on the subfloor. The rooms were also painted using a low VOC paint from Home Depot. My birds were placed in another room until the paint was dry.

I have 5 flight cages in my bird room. They do have castors/wheels and move easily on the floor - no scratching.