• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Bilbo the Budgie has red around his eye!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bandit_id

Moving in
Real Name
Lee
Hello there I am new to this I have a budgie he is male his Left eye socket is red around the eye but not actually the eye he is blinking alot I have never had this problem before, he seems o.k in himself he is scratching it more than usual rubbing his face against the perches more any idea what I can do and will he be o.k please can anyone let me know asap. Thank you.

bandit_id

Moving in
Real Name
Lee
It is me again just updating with extra info bilbo now has 2 red eyes and is scratching alot any ideas any1 please can any one reply at all?

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
It sounds like either an infection or an irritant. The best suggestion I would be able to offer would be to consult your avian vet.

bandit_id

Moving in
Real Name
Lee
ok will do it just came on very sudden his eyes were ok earlier then when looking over him as I normally do he was scratching more and more and it started with 1 eye and now the other he seems ok in himself its just the scratching could it be an allergic reaction to something such as washing powder or detergent as I washed things today that he normally sits on when he is out of the cage, is the vet the only option is there anything I can do in the mean time?

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge