• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Are calphalon pots/pans safe???????

Status
Not open for further replies.

laladiaz

Strolling the yard
Hi everyone!! I have another new bird owner question. I know teflon is a bird killer and got rid of all my teflon pans when Cody (my cockatiel) came to live with me but I'm not sure what, if any safe alternatives there are. I currently use stainless steel for everything but there are certain dishes that just don't come out right. It doesn't help that I'm a horrible cook. Anyway, I've been looking online and some sites recommend calphalon as bird safe cookware but other sites say calphalon (annodized aluminum) is harmful. Does anyone know the correct answer...or any other safe alternatives? Thanks so much:)

ortegah

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Heather Ortega
Stick with either Stainless steel or you can do a cast iron pan. The cast iron pans can be seasoned and become very non-stick the more you use them. If the calphalon pan claims to be non-stick in any way then it uses teflon.

itzmered

Welcome to Parrotdise
Super Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Chris
I had calphalon pans and switched to Stainless steel when we got birds. I would not use them.

laladiaz

Strolling the yard
Thanks so much for all of the info. I just googled cast iron pans and I think I'm going to give them a try. I will definitely stay away from the calphalon. I'm so glad I discovered Avian Avenue a few months ago. It has definitely become a great resource for me. Thanks again:)

saroj12

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
saroj
cuisinart green pans are good, lala!

J*M*L

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Julie