• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Advice/ Opinions on Me Getting a LoveBird?

briannamonet

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Brianna
Hey all! I'm Brianna and I am new here.
So me and my brother used to have two parakeets. Unfortunately they died right before we moved to Georgia. That was about three years ago. My brother really wants another bird and I was thinking about getting a lovebird. I did a little reading up on them and they seems really cute. Do you guys have any opinions or advice on it ?

RJ Noodle

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Zetra
Welcome to AA. Sorry, I have no experience with love birds but lots of folks do here. Read, read, read on this board. Go to the lovebird section and you will learn a lot!

gibsongrrrl

Courtney Lou Hoo
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Courtney Lou Hoo
I would try to find a male, as the females are notoriously very bitey. Not saying all are, but they are few and far between from my experience working at an avian clinic. I had the sweetest hand raised baby when I was a kid, but she turned into the devil when her hormones hit and we couldn't handle her anymore. It was heartbreaking.

RJ Noodle

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Zetra
Oops, just realized this IS in the lovie section :wacky:

Cynthia & Percy

cockatoo mania
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avian Angel
Real Name
cynthia
welcome i am sorry i have no advice to give

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John