• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

3-4 Week Old Quaker Parrot. Help!

Tara13S3

Moving in
Real Name
Tara Schoggins
Hello,

I am sure I will get a lot of criticism, however, I really just need advice. A friend of mine purchased a baby quaker parrot 3 days ago and was told it was about 3 weeks old when purchased. She was told to hand-feed 10ccs every 4-5 hours. HORRIBLE BREEDER to sell one this young, especially to someone inexperienced. Long story short she became overwhelmed and asked if I would take it on. I agreed only because I have some prior experience with baby birds (Hand feeding fledglings after momma was killed by a cat). I still am not comfortable enough to consider myself knowledgeable for raising a healthy baby parrot though. I understand this is a very intensive and delicate thing to do and should only be done by experienced breeders. However, I want to give this little guy the best chance of survival and happy life. Any advice is appreciated.