• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Total newbie questions and my dream aquarium

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlan79

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Julia
Hi all,

I have been wanting a saltwater aquarium for ages, but I don't think I can handle the upkeep and the expense of one. So, I have now settled on a freshwater and would love to replicate something like this

What do I need to know about plantless aquariums? Does it require more or less upkeep than a planted one? What size would be good for 5-6 African cichlids? Anything I need to know about that species? What other fish would do well in this type of a tank? I had a tank as a kid, but that's it. I will be doing a lot of research and trying to convince my husband to get one :)

On a side-note, how do they make that sand on the bottom of the tank have a ripple effect? The sand looks like it's an even layer on top of something else. Or is it an optical illusion?

Last edited:

Vicky Chai Tea

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Vicky
The tank size totally depends on what type of Africans you want. If you go with shell dwellers you'll only need a ten gallon, and if you want Frontosas you'd need at least an eighty gallon. Likewise, the way the tank looks reflects the fish you get. Shallow and long for shell dwellers, large and deep from Frontosas.