• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Socializing budgies?

Featheredfuffs

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Pearl
Hi,

I've been helping an elderly man care for his budgies for a few months now, and although the budgies seem quite content out of the cage, we've been having a hard time getting them a little more used to people (they came from a pet store). Does anyone have any ideas?

Here are some pictures of them (just for fun);

Attachments

CeciliaZ

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Cecilia
Very pretty budgies! I'm new to budgies also - will be watching this thread :)

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew
If they are afraid of people, whenever you walk by their cage, drop a small treat into their food bowl. They will come to learn that you being near their cage results in something good for them. To keep them from becoming afraid of you, bribe them to get them back into their cage as opposed to chasing them. You could put a piece of millet spray in their cage, and see if they go back into the cage for it. I recommended millet spray as most budgies love it. If you are going to do this, save millet spray for just this purpose. When you are around them, talk in a calm voice so that they do not become startled.

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
Good advice. Budgies work for millet. Try holding some millet seeds in the palm of your hand. Idea being to eat out of your hand. If one budgie does this they all will. Will some of them sit on your shoulder yet?

Featheredfuffs

Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Pearl