• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Socializing and introducing lovebird babies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Banner Hoarder
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
Well regardless, I think it's good you are asking questions :) we've all made mistakes, and as long as we learn from them and strive not to repeat them, we should be able to move past them, right?

I'm no breeder, I have no experience, but I would just make sure to handle the babies like you are so they get a lot of human interaction. Have other people handle them too so it's not just you.

I would also see nothing wrong with introducing them to veggies and fruits.. the sooner they see those as food, the better!

Does the mother have access to any calcium? Egg laying takes a lot out of them.

In the future, if they mate again, and as cruel as it sounds, I would either swap the eggs for fakes, or boil them so that you don't get completely overrun with budgies :)

Bokkapooh

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Mercedez
Considering you've been a member here a long time now and you've had problems in the past with your birds. Since that time, when we suggested doing more research, you should have been doing research on your birds. Please, for the sake of your birds, do research on proper care and housing and about breeding.

merrin091

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Merrin