• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Raptors that target dogs…

Sparkles99

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Is there a list anywhere of the max weight birds of prey can take? There was a raptor circling the field this morning. I called my dog & held her, but it’s not the first time. She’s a little pudgy at 15 lbs (should be 13ish). I tried to get a photo & have tried to learn flight silhouettes, but I’m not good at it. It might help to narrow down the possibilities. Meanwhile, I think she’s being hunted & she thinks she’s invincible.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
Oh my that's scary! I have no idea but I hope someone else does!

April

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
The odds of that happening are quite slim. I'm not sure what raptors you have but even a Bald Eagle can't pick up more than roughly 7 pounds so yes while that could encompass a fair amount of dogs that would be a rare instance.

My personal favorite the Red Tailed Hawk struggles even carrying a 5 pound rabbit so I really don't think most would attempt to go after a dog when they know what species they can carry. But that being said stranger things have happened so it doesn't hurt to be cautious but I wouldn't be too worried about it at your dogs weight :)
This is super blurry so hopefully it won't offend but I witnessed this first hand with a rabbit and the Hawk struggled incredibly hard to even take off and get any lift while carrying the rabbit away it expended so much effort.
20180630_070847.jpg

Last edited:

Sparkles99

Celebirdy of the Month