• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Questions about nesting habits

Rana Asim Wajid

Strolling the yard
Avenue Veteran
Hello.I have a couple of questions for the pros here:

1) Do male and female lovebirds BOTH build nest ? I have a pair and they are building a nest together....is this normal ?

2) Is the nest building behavior of female different from male ?

3) Also will two male lovebirds build a nest together if no female is available ?

Irishj9

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
JP
I don't think I'm a lovebird Pro, but I'm online, so here goes:

There are 6 species of lovebirds, so we have to be careful about generalisation. I have 24 Fischers, so that's the limit of my knowledge.

Male and Female do build the nest, but the female makes the final design decisions

I havent seen two males attempt a nest, but I wouldnt be surprised, if there are no females about.

JP

Rana Asim Wajid

Strolling the yard
Avenue Veteran
I don't think I'm a lovebird Pro, but I'm online, so here goes:

There are 6 species of lovebirds, so we have to be careful about generalisation. I have 24 Fischers, so that's the limit of my knowledge.

Male and Female do build the nest, but the female makes the final design decisions

I havent seen two males attempt a nest, but I wouldnt be surprised, if there are no females about.

JP
my lovebirds are black mask yellow chest lovebird aka Black Mask personata Yellow Collared

So nest building doesn't necessarily mean eggs are on the way ?

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
I'm afraid my knowledge on lovebirds is limited. @Monica ?

Monica

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Monica