• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Problem with baby lovebird

Maljarudi

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello,

I am new to raising birds. this bird that I'm going to talk about is my second one.
My first on unfortunately died in an accident while playing it when it was anout 2 months old.
Now I have baby rosy faced albino lovebird (it's 23 days old).
I handfeed my first one, I took it when it was about 3 weeks old or a bit older, I place it on one and just put the syringe near its peak and it will eat.
now this won't do that I have genlty hold it's hwad from the back for it to properly eat otherwise it won't now thats not the problem. I had it for a week now, three days ago I ran out for out of the formula and I only noticed that at night when I went to prepare it meal so I made cerelac from crushed cherrios and water just for that one meal unitl I buy some. After that day it wont eat properly. When I come to get it to eat it get very excited and jumps around for me to take it and feed it. after feeding it 2ml it won't open it's mouth for the rest I have to open it myself and place the syringe there for it to eat. Also it moves alot while eating so it gets dirty form the food. I'm not sure how to clean it.

Another thing that it does it seems to always squeak even while eating.

I am also concerned about it's size (I'll upload a photo) I see in the internet pictures of 23 day old lovebird and mines seems to be samller and less feathered.

With all this trouble I am having with it when I palce my hand near it, it will come to me and climb on my hand.

Attachments

Emmilyy

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Emily