• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Obesity, and stress at the veterinarians office

Kara31191

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Kara
Hey guys!

This is a really serious post. I'm an incredibly bird-loving veterinary technician, veterinary student, and overly-emotional person, at times.

I am owned by my Scarlet Macaw, Rex, as well as my parent's congo african grey, and my sisters greenwing macaw. I'm in college. I've been working in the veterinary field for over 8 years.

I've always been told death from the stress of an exam can happen. It can happen to any experienced veterinarian, and everyone in the field has a story about a tragic death. The bird may not be acutely ill, and it may pass away. It stresses the importance of a yearly (or biyearly for seniors) physical exam, and lab work. It also means the bird had an underlying illness, or in the case of small birds, was not used to being handled and could be stressed out enough to have a heart attack just from the physical exam.

In all of the hospitals, I've worked in, a tech has had a story. One of my great friends, excellent with birds, was working with an excellent veterinarian who basically said that she was trimming a 60 y/o wild caught greenwing, when it just died in front of the owner. What did I do? I comforted her, and told her the bird had an underlying issues that would be diagnosed on necropsy, though we're all sad for the loss of this dear bird.

That was maybe, uh, 6 years ago.

3 years ago, I watched a tech torture herself for days, crying hysterically after she lost a bird that was also not ACUTELY ill during a general physical exam and beak trim. I told her the same thing. You can't beat yourself up over it, it happens, the bird was already sick.