• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New Home Construction

KrisNPenelope

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Kristina
Looking for some tips or advice,

I'm a first-time conure owner and while I've had her for almost 4 years I'm still learning. With that said we're in the process of building a home that should be finished sometime in December. In the house I am in currently I have never done any home renovations since getting Penelope since I never had a safe place to bring her will things aired out.

So now I'm going from never doing anything to everything in the house will be new. I tried my best to pick no to low VOC options for the paint, flooring, cabinets, and figure I'll burn in the new fireplace place, run the new stove, and heating a couple of times to burn off any factory oils before we move Penelope in. I'm lucky enough to where we planning on moving into the house in stages so I can air out the house a good amount of time before moving Penelope in last.

Has anyone moved into a brand new home with their parrots? What steps did you take to make sure everything was aired out and off-gassed enough and how long should I wait to bring her? Any tips, experience, advice would be greatly appreciated!

Love My Zons

Cruising the avenue
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Claire
I have no offering of advice except self cleaning ovens and use the first time. Keep your bird in a room away from the kitchen. As long as paint is dry there will be no issue.

Good luck on the new house!

saroj12

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
saroj
When we built our special addition designed for birds with 0 voc paint etc we aired it out for a month before I moved them in.

KrisNPenelope

Meeting neighbors