• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New caique, new parrot owner, and a few questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pntbll248

Moving in
Real Name
Ryan
Just wanted to pop in and say hi! I picked up my little buddy Colby a week ago, and another member of this forum (Jazzysmama) recommended I check out avianavenue after we met at the avian vet! Colby's my first bird I've ever cared for, got him from a well reputed bird shop in Ohio and he's absolutely adorable. We're getting along well, he loves showers in the morning and we've gone on plenty of adventures throughout the house. He's a bit headstrong, but hey, so am I! :heart: Just me and him in the house, most of my immediate family has passed away and the rest have gone their separate ways in the world, but we seem to be keeping each other entertained well enough this past week. I work as a grad student in limnology right now which means my hours are pretty irregular, but I'm trying hard to establish a routine, even if it has me getting up at strange hours (For me: I'm used to going to bed at 3AM, waking up at 10AM :p). He got a clean bill of health on Monday from the avian vet and even after his extreme displeasure with all the poking, prodding, and blood drawing, he bounced back surprisingly quickly and was happily chortling away on the ride home.