• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Might be getting a Cockatiel

Jenw12

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Jennifer
So I was going to get a Sun Conure but I realized that they may be right for me, but not my whole family.

So I just started studying up on Cockatiels and fell in love with them. I was going to wait a little longer before getting one to learn more about them through other's experience and care guides. I have read all that was given here and nothing has deterred me away yet!!! :p

Anyway, there is a two year old Cockatiel that is in need of rescue. He is two years old and they say he is very sweet. He is about a 1.5 hour drive from where I live. Comes with his cage, food, toys, treats, books on how to care for him, and he has had a vet check all for 125. Price doesn't matter to me, but I think that is perfect as quarantine in my house isn't perfect, so that he has been to the vet makes me feel better.

Any advice? I'd love to hear some of your experience with Cocktiels and what made you choose them, or actually how they to choose you. <3 :D

Lwalker

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Lori
Just want to say congratulations! I have a soft spot for cockatiels. I had two (at separate times) and they are wonderful.

Jenw12

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Jennifer
I have called the man to see about getting him. I am very excited!!!

I have only had budgies. So how much different are they to them? I actually have three young budgies at the moment. Can they play together? (Not be in the same cage of course)

finchly

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Finchly
@Lady Jane will know about that.