• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Macaws--Are they truly a "family bird" or do they choose one "person"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBeesKnees

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Lindsey Champine
So, as you may or may not know, I have a brand new baby Blue and Gold Macaw, my first macaw, so I am still learning.

Sozzie seems like he loves us all, and I am noticing as his personality develops more and more, that he enjoys being fed by my husband, mostly because I am slow and meticulous about it, and Bobby "gets it done" so to speak lol....and I have noticed Sozzie enjoys his snuggle and sleep time with me....

So, my question is, for you Macaw owners, do you find that they end up loving everyone in the home, or do they end up choosing one person as their "pet"?

I'm curious about all the answers....and I'll leave you with a pic of my new baby....next to my daughter, he's the love of my life!

:heart::heart::heart::heart::heart::heart::heart::heart::heart: 314541_2459082521186_1375831039_4371722_1727784474_n.jpg

Holiday

Mac Mama
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Macaws in general, once they are adults, will often choose a favorite person, which is completely normal and is to be expected since this is instinctive behavior--in the wild, when a bird matures, he or she will choose a mate for life. In our households, they may pick a human "special someone." Here are some links that help explain this:

(A sticky on Bird Boulevard that I wrote) http://forums.avianavenue.com/bird-boulevard/27522-newer-members-one-person-birds.html

A good article by Shari Beaudoin on hormones and behavior: Site Name - Articles - Behavioral - Sex And The Psittacine

TheBeesKnees

Real Name
Lindsey Champine