• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Love Bird Help

Inzie

Moving in
I’m fairly new to this and I have the opportunity to possibly rescue a 6 month old Love Bird. My question is, can this bird be socialized at 6 months old? To my knowledge it has just lived in a large outdoor cage with other love birds and rarely handled so far.

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
6 months old is still a young bird.
I don´t have any personal experience of a situation like that, but if you were only to bring home one bird and devote time to him/her then I would think so.

It is important to have a large cage, the biggest you can find (with adequate barspacing). I would also say not to clip the bird.
Start by having the cage in the room. Talk to the bird often, get a chair and sit by the cage. Eventually when the bird doesn´t get scared when you are near the cage, offer up some treats through the bars(millets is usually a hit).
The process is the same as anyone who brings home a bird from a store or a breeder, the difference is it could take longer for you.

It will take time and patience, don´t be misled into thinking the bird will be your friend in a few days or even a couple of weeks.

Also worth noting around 5-6 months is when birds have their first moult. It can be an uncomfortable time so might be extra grouchy. Offering up daily baths with help soothe them. You will know if the bird is moulting because there will be feathers everywhere. If the bird is a peach faced, you will know the moult has happened because the brow will be a clear line whereas young birds have a more smoked shaded brow and sometimes greyish cheeks. I´m not sure how you would be able to tell with the Eye-ring species.