• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Loud breathing macaw? Need MI vet!!

BrennaNeal

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Brenna Neal
Hey, this is my first post so I apologize if I'm not doing this right. I adopted a macaw a few weeks ago from a friend who could no longer take care of him, I have a lot of experience with smaller birds but not so much the bigger ones (I've done research and am still learning!).

When I got him, I noticed that he sneezed a lot so I asked the previous owners and they told me that "he always does that" so I took him to a vet in the area and they said he is molting (he is) and the dust is probably just aggravating him and they sent me on my way.

After another week however, I noticed a clear discharge (it dried up very quickly and hasn't been back) and his breathing is very loud. I took him to another vet (an avian vet) and they listened to his lungs and took a fecal sample, and said that he sounds clear and has no problems and his nose is probably just being aggravated by dust from the home and his own feather dust and that there was nothing to worry about unless i noticed coloured discharge from the nose.