1. Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Looking for Mentor

Discussion in 'Welcome Lane' started by Nautilidae, 10/12/17 at 9:50 AM.

1. Nautilidae

Nautilidae Checking out the neighborhood

Hello,
    I am new to bird handling and I am very interested in getting an African Grey after spending a bit of time with one and bonding with him. I have experience with Conures and Cockateils though I have never actually owned one I was employed at a pet store for a while before deciding it wasn't for me.

I live in the Des Moines IA area and am looking for mentors both to talk to or to possibly meet up with and actually get some experience with bigger birds. There is a rescue about a 4 hour drive from me but I am currently fostering a puppy and waiting for a good weekend to have someone puppysit before I take a drive up there. I am more than comfortable with exotic animals and while I don't like biting I can handle it!

Please feel free to message me or send in advice. I don't plan on getting a bird for at least a year.

2. JLcribber

JLcribber Joyriding the Neighborhood Celebirdy of the Month Mayor of the Avenue Avenue Spotlight Award Avenue Veteran Shutterbugs' Best

John
    You’ve got 15,000 members here to rely on. There is no greater wisdom than the wisdom of the crowd.

Stick around. Post a lot and you’ll learn everything you need to know.

Zoepr143, DQTimnehs, zoo mom and 5 others like this.
  3. cassiesdad

cassiesdad Joyriding the Neighborhood Celebirdy of the Month Mayor of the Avenue Avenue Spotlight Award Avenue Veteran I Can't Stop Posting!

Bob Weisman
    Welcome to the Avenue. :)