• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

I need your help for a research :)

Carmenhdez

Moving in
Real Name
Carmen Hernandez
Hello! My name is Carmen Hernández, I am a researcher at the Autonomous University of Madrid. I am studiying the sense of smell in parrots, macaws and toucans! Some owners reported that amazons change their odour when they change their mood. Would you like to tell me more about this? Have you notice this in your parrot or macaw?

Thank you for your help! Any comment about their sense of smell or their plumage odour is welcome! I want to know your thoughts on this topic

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Hello Carmen, Welcome to Avian Avenue,

Do you mean their sense of smell, or how they smell to us?

Carmenhdez

Moving in
Real Name
Carmen Hernandez
In the first sentence I was talking about how they smell to us in certain situacions, for example if they are excited or very afraid. But I am happy to know any curiosities you noticed about their sense of smell too. Thanks Zara!

Pixiebeak

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Laura
I have noticed my green cheek conures will give off a scent when happy lovey . My past one Burt did this often, with my current it's just once in awhile I notice this.
It is hard to describe the scent, but it was very pleasant

Carmenhdez

Moving in
Real Name
Carmen Hernandez