• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hi from Wyoming

kathykeltsy

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
kathy
My name is Kathy and I am here to find out all I can on Conures. I will be getting my baby, a Crimson Bellied Conure, in about a month. I have 2 budgies, Chrip and Pipsqueak, and 2 cockatiels, Kona and Mica. I only got the two tiels at Christmas, thanks to my sweet husband. The gal who I got my tiels from let me know she had these conures and since my tiels are so amazing, and sweet, and calm and tame (I could go on and on) I decided to go for it. That way the tiels and my conure can be babies together.

I am relatively new to birds. I had budgies when I was young but this was a long time ago and information was not really available. They never seemed to thrive and I would only have them for 2 or 3 years and then they would die. So I took a long break from birds until I had my first baby 35 years ago and we got another budgie who was very tame and a lot of fun. Tweety is no longer with us, but I always wanted birds. I never got the satisfaction from my other pets as I did that bird!

So anyway, fast forward, I'm a grandma now and I got my 2 budgies a couple of years ago. They were very wild so they just get to be my birds that I enjoy to watch, no touching. :)

I really wanted a parrot I could hold or have sit on my shoulder, so my hubby got me my 2 tiels and I have been obsessed with them since. And then I saw how pretty these conures were and made the plunge. But not a pair this time, just one.

I know they are a bit more complicated than a tiel or budgie but I feel up to it. I have a room dedicated to being a "bird room", so all my birds have time out of the cage. My budgies basically are out all day when I'm at work, but I put them back in their cage when it's "Tiel Time" as my girl budgie is a bully to them.