• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help! Need Advice on Bird Choice

Status
Not open for further replies.

AmazonFan

Meeting neighbors
Hi all - I'm currently trying to filter through all the reading I've done to decide which Amazon I'd like, and which would suit me best.I have some experience, having once had a DYH who was starved, wormy, and abandoned on a golf course. Lola was about 10-12 years old and mostly good with me...but was vicious with everyone else and he ended up puncturing my elderly mother's Achilles' tendon. At the time I did a few short trips and I could never find anyone to care for him while I was gone and even the boarding facility wasn't thrilled with his aggression either. Ultimately, rather than pass him off to an unsuspecting buyer, I found him a home with a local breeder who found him a mate and has him in a large flight with his 'girlfriend' (totally think they're not married, LOL).I love the 'spicy' in Amazons - but know that a bird that is that aggressive is beyond my abilities as a relative novice. Talking ability isnt that big a deal for me. I'm no longer traveling (ok, perhaps a weekend escape once or twice a year) and want a fid. In reading and asking around (asked Lola's avian vet), I have repeatedly heard that I should try for a YC or BF. That was the vet's pick, and he said try for a female. I've heard Panama and LC are very sweet too.Right now there is a breeder with YC, and another with a Panama. The P is considerably less money (hey, I'm a teacher, not a cheapskate), but it seems that the breeder is far more large scale. I'm looking at about 1300 (this includes shipping) for the YC and about 900 for the P. BF are some months away from egg laying. I'm in no hurry, and i know it's all about socializationbut i want to share my home and life with a bird who will love me too...and not kill my family.Thanks