• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello I’m new to cockatiels pls help me understand this

SJ07

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Saaniya Jackson
IMG_1848.jpeg Hello guys my name is saaniya and 3 days ago I rescued a cockatiel Lutino basically from a tree he’s very happy bird small age in my opinion
I have pet birds like roosters , red vented bulbul and pigeons it’s my very first time with a cockatiel
So first I googled and found they eat fruits and veggies and millet
Added everything but he love foxtail millet from rest of the things.
his poop was normal first day
But changed today maybe due to just millet??
he’s drinking less not much and in the morningI try to let him drink but he bite me and start eating millet and drink after eating

now he’s pooping like this IMG_1849.jpeg

looks like it’s allmillets the urates is nice white just the fecal matter is changed

I ordered pallets from Amazon showing Monday delivery as well as toys too
Pls need tips for healthy raising and suggestions from experts:)

he’s having clean fresh water we have RO purified water (as the local water isn’t good for human my all birds drink purified water)

Attachments

Spearmint

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Elk [He/They]
Hello and welcome!
Your new tiel is very cute.

Cockatiels need a nice stable diet of pellets, and "chop". Millet is considered a treat, which is why your cockatiel is only eating the millet. Millet shouldn't be often provided, as it's not very nutritious.
I'm not too sure about the poop, hopefully another member will be able to provide better insight.
Will this cockatiel be staying with you permanently? Or just for now?

Here is some links to forums about parrot food and chop:

Best of luck :)

SJ07

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Saaniya Jackson
Hello and welcome!