• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello everyone newbie here :)

London

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Gracelyn
Hi I'm Gracelyn, and I'm getting my new cockatiel London sometime in the next two weeks. I'm moving right now and cant bring him to the new house yet. I have a few questions.

1) I work at the small family owned pet store I'm getting London at. So my question is even though he is already semi used to me, the day I bring him home can I handle him? Or should I wait a couple of days to hold him?

2) He was housed with another cockatiel and 3 parakeets, so in the future can I get one of the parakeets that was housed with him and have them live in the same cage?

3) Also will he continue to flock call days after I bring him home? I'm asking because I put him in his own cage because its easier to get him out of the aviary, plus the other birds aren't in the way and he is calling for them.

Thank you guys in advance, sorry for all the questions. I know its kind of weird that I work at a pet store and don't know the answers to these questions. I don't run the bird part, I'm with the reptiles. I know the basic care and that's is. That's why I came here to learn everything possible about my new baby.

London

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Gracelyn
I have joined another form and some members think I should also bring home a parakeet he was housed with so he doesn't get lonely when im not around, because he is used to being with some one/ bird all day and night? Do any of you agree?

Tongue Flicker

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Neil Moreton

Hey gracelyn welcome aboard!

Feathered friends for our tiels are pretty much okay just be sure to observe the proper quarantine measures

HelloMarsha

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Claire