• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Green cheeks hate each other!

ssseagull

Checking out the neighborhood
I have a green cheek conure that I got as a rescue along with 2 other birds. I didn’t want three and I thought he would be fine as a single bird, so I rehomed the other two. I felt bad that he was lonely when I wasn’t home so I decided to introduce a second green cheek, since he got along fine with the other two I assumed they would be friends.

Unfortunately he hates the new bird and tries to fight him through the cage bars. I assume this is because me and him have bonded while he was living alone.

I’m no newbie to the parrot care world, but there are so many different perspectives and opinions it’s difficult to know what to do until it’s time to do it.

My goal with this was to stop my green cheek from screaming all day when I’m not in the room. This has worked, he doesn’t scream anymore AND he still loves me. Would it be an ethical decision for me to cage them separately and spend time with both of them individually? It’s so strange, they hate each other but when one of them is in the room alone they just scream and scream. I’ll be downstairs with my old bird and the new bird is upstairs screaming.

aooratrix

Macawaholic
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew