• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

GCC Need Advice (Smelly Poo and Feather issues)

Ash M Gon

Sitting on the front steps
Avenue Veteran
Hey all - sorry for the long post. I wanted to provide as much info as possible, and I hope this is the right spot to post. I have lurked here since I was a young undergraduate in 2015, and have finally rescued a bird of my own as of March this year! Please meet Meeko (profile pic)

Question: Any thoughts/experiences with smelly poo and blackening feathers? Lots of details are below.
Meeko is an approx. 2 yo Turquoise yellow sided Green Cheek Conure (unsexed)

Lately I've noticed (issues):
1) Smelly poo I started noticing about 3 days ago, mostly in the big morning poo that disappears in the other poos during the day. It's a sour smell when it's there, kind of like yogurt.
2) Slightly smelly breath that smells the same, but super faint.
3) Heavy molt. He doesn't seem to be plucking, but on either side of his body (near legs and beneath wing) there's patches of grey down. He's molted out tail and flight feathers that are growing back too
4) Feather blackening since he's moved in. His feathers have lost some serious stress bars from before rescue during this molt, but they're not as nice as uniform as in that profile pic, now. His body feathers are patched with black. He does roughouse a lot in the bedsheets in the morning for cuddles, so maybe that's it?

Now for some considerations:
1) Already took Meeko to the vet 1 mo. ago just as part of a general health checkup. Negative for everything tested for, which included Giardia, Polyoma (and got the vaccine), Avian flu, PBFD, and Chlamydophila genus. Vet noticed Meeko was underweight (keelbone feel) at 66grams, and I got him/her to an average of 71 since then