• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Food Brands?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RedDragon1288

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Carol
Well, just wanted to know if anyone had any ideas of what brands some use and is there a brand that is most favorable over the other for any given reason among us all. So far I have only used O.S.I. and Tetra brands. I have a outdoor pond that house 23 golddies and 2 skiiders (mosquito fish), a 1.5 gallon tank with a betta and a 20 gallon planted tank with one ghost shrimp, one black mystory snail name Gaint and many tiny snails, 7 fishes: 6 tetras (3 black neons, 2 bloodfins, and one glass bloodfin) and one Red Crimson Dwarf Goumarni. This is my first year dealing with a planted aquarium as I have only experience with cold water pond set-ups.

So, there is my introduction on that, now back to food brand. What is the best out there?

waterfaller1

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
carole
For Goldfish I use Hikari Saki and Dainichi Ultra{not the color enhancing one}
Anything Tetra is garbage.It is just full of fillers. For the betta I would recommend Hikari. The gourami/planted tank occupants and the betta would appreciate some Hikari frozen bloodworms on occasion.For general maintenance I would mix it up by giving some Omega one, Hikari, and New Life Spectrum foods. NLS makes some nice small pellets that are taken well.They use whole foods in the preparation of their foods. I also like Ocean Nutrition's formula one, as a flake.

waterfaller1

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
carole