• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

DYH Amazon Not Weaning

nlmiller1

Checking out the neighborhood
I have a 3 month old DYH Amazon that is on 2 hand feedings per day. The bird
doesn't show any interest at all in eating on it's own. I offer fruits, veggies,
and soften pellets. Whenever I am in view, the bird cries incesently and wants
to be fed. Regardless of wether he is full or not, he still cries as long as he
can see me. His weight is good. He's big, solid and has vibrant coloration.
Any ideas on how to get him to start weaning and curtail the crying?

Teasha

Rollerblading along the road
Not an expert at all in breeding of larger birds but I do know some birds do take longer than others to wean. Just be patient and keep offering the other foods and when he is ready he will start weaning. :)

teebox01

Moving in
Real Name
Linda
I am not experienced with DYH but have a baby CAG which is 4 months and he still taking two feedings a day...at 3 months he was still on 3. the earlier day is light but the evening one is little less than a month ago. But he still wants his warm nite nite feeding. He is crunching seed and starting to eat soft foods. I have offered them to him since he was 8 weeks but he is just now really starting to take interest. so I would say hand feed that baby, all he wants.. at each feeding. And it might be he needs 3 a day if he is crying then he is hungry....keep offering the soft food and pellets, he will come around. I believe they will wean themselves. I woudl not push ........enjoy they grow up fast enough...

Cinnyluver

Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Ana
Give him time. Some large birds can take up to a year to wean. You just have to be very patient with them.

kcbee

Animal Lover
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Kacy