• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Dusky Lory: I need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Cozy Nestbox

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Kelly
We brought home a 4-year old Dusky Lory hen last night. I have no prior experience with raising Lories. The prior keeper gave me some powder nectar that I was told to feed to the Lory dry, along with a bag of ZuPreen Lory Diet Nuggets. I was told to give her half an apple a day. That seems like a lot. Am I wrong?

I gave the Dusky some organic apple slices (2), the powdered nectar, some of the nuggets and a big bowl of water this morning. I see the Lory eating some nuggets but mostly the dry nectar. She is dipping her beak into the powder and then getting water to wash it down with. I gave her some small pieces of watermelon this morning as well and she has really been going to town on that.

Okay, so here are my questions for you seasoned Lory keepers:

1. From the bird's point of view, are there any advantages to having the nectar fed dry as opposed to in liquid form? How much nectar and how much nuggets percentage-wise should make up the Dusky's daily diet?

2. What other kind of fresh foods can I safely feed to the Dusky that she will likely enjoy and benefit from? What foods do I need to steer clear of, other than the obvious (chocolate, avocado, etc)?

3. The Dusky was kept with no toys whatsoever. Not even a swing. I want to set up the Dusky with species-appropriate toys and I'm thinking that it may enjoy ropes and a swing. Any suggestions?

I gave her some finger traps as I thought she would likely enjoy shredder-type toys. So far I do not see her playing with those. I do see her picking up a small whiffle-type ball and tossing it around at times.

4. I need a name for this beautiful bird and am open to suggestions.