• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures Doesn't want to back in cage

Reeny

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Maureen
So this behavior is new over the last few months. Douie is my male Senegal parrot. A couple of times I have had a difficult time getting him back in the cage. When he flies to me if I reach for him he flies away. He has tried to actually bite me. I tried a perch that doesn't work either. Usually I just outsmart him.
Today he outsmarted me. I couldn't get him back in the cage. He even screamed when I tried to get him. It usually works that he will fly back and forth to me and eventually I am able to get him (gently). I actually do not get him and put him right back in because I don't want him to associate me touching him and then putting him back. But sometimes I have to like today I had to leave him out. I've never done that before.
This is how I left him!

Attachments

Odin

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Chantal
Odin does the same thing. He won't scream, but he flies away and then he does try to bite. When I HAD to leave and put him away, I towel him. He doesn't like it and neither do I but sometimes it has to be done. When I CAN leave him be, I do. When Loki goes to bed, he will go in too. Or at supper time. I am interested to see what others' say. :)

EkkieLuv

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Leslie
My daughter bribes her Senegal back in his cage with Nutriberries.
Tigger gets nippy when I try to coerce him to step up and he doesn't want to go back into his cage. But his surefire bribe is a pistachio or bite of almond. I just put it in his treat bowl and he scrambles in after it!

The GCC I'm fostering wants to stay attached to my shoulder. Especially when it's time to go back in his cage. But he will almost always step up for a sunflower seed or some special treat.