• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

decrypting M2 body language?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tozie12

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
beth
I have had my M2 since january this year. I'm still learning about his body language and was hoping some of the more experienced 2 parronts would be able to help me. I have a Scarlet Macaw that i can look at and know with a glance how he's feeling and if he's receptive to interaction. But my M2 definitely 'speaks a different language'! :hehe:

I have been told that the 2-beard poofed out is a comfort thing. But when he sees a man he gets very agitated with lots of muttering and his beard poofs out. He is anything but 'content' at this time. I know he was abused by a man in one of his previous homes, and he will react with aggression to anyone who even looks like they may be a man, even a short haired female.

I have long since given up on using the crest as a que, it seems to mean i'm happy, i'm mad, i'm scared, i'm excited, i'm ready to kill, and about 1000 other emotions! I think that when he opens his cowl AND his crest it is a happy thing, but if the cowl stays down, all bets are off on what he's feeling.
:confused:

I have read thru a few of the older posts looking for this info and didn't see it. I DID however, see that he definitely has 'stereotypical' behaviors. I have referred to it as neurotic behaviors. Is there anything i can do to help him recover from these behaviors? His cage is 4ft x 3ft x 6ft. His room is as cockatoo-proofed as i can make it until he shows me how he's gonna outsmart me. :hehe: So he is not locked in his cage anymore except overnite. I'm hoping that giving him all this room and lots of toys and things to do will help him with his neurotic behaviors as well as his feather destructive behaviors.