• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Companion for my cockatiel??

ckiehl26

Meeting neighbors
I currently have a 6y/o female cockatiel who is the sweetest thing ever. She's super calm and attached to me--all she wants to do is cuddle and get head rubs! However, I'm a student and live in an apartment so I'm gone a good bit (I'm still able to interact with her for a few hours each day) but she screams when I'm gone. One of my roommates is really good with her so she'll go in and play music for her on my Alexa and that usually helps a little but I get so worried that she's lonely when I'm gone and feel guilty whenever I'm not home. I've been thinking about getting her another female cockatiel to keep each other company. I know it's no guarantee that they will like each other, but I feel like just having another bird would help her not be lonely. advice???

Xoetix

Biking along the boulevard
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Meghan (she/her)
I feel like I read somewhere that having two females can be difficult because they can get territorial, but I can’t remember fully. Maybe @sunnysmom might know?

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
I feel like I read somewhere that having two females can be difficult because they can get territorial, but I can’t remember fully. Maybe @sunnysmom might know?