• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Companion for Dove?

CindyM

Checking out the neighborhood
I rescued a white ring neck dove. She was the only survivor after the owner went to hospital then assisted living. Apparently the bird caretaker abandoned them. I’ve had her for 5 years, living inside in a large parrot cage.
I’m just wondering about getting a companion for her. I’ve been offered a baby (just hatched yesterday, so it will be awhile , if all goes well, before I can get it.)
Do you think it’ll be ok to put a baby with her? I don’t know how old she is.
I’m also concerned what if the baby turns out to be male, as I don’t want them to have babies.
She has never laid an egg. But the vet confirmed she thought she’s female. .....
I have no experience with doves!
Only 2 cockatiels and an African grey
( RIP all 3 )
Ms Dove is sweet and coos responsively to me , & lets me pick her up ( but doesn’t seem to love that & isn’t comfortable with petting or scritches) I don’t know if she’s exactly “ bonded” to me. It seems to me she might enjoy another dove.
Any input much appreciated.

Attachments

Monica

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Monica
Birds who allopreen more in the wild seem to form stronger bonds with humans than those that don't allopreen as much... which goes for parrots, too.

IMO, another dove may be beneficial to her. If you are worried about the chick being male and breeding, you could set up a second cage (which is a good idea regardless). Now, even if they never live together, having another dove could encourage your girl to lay eggs - they just wont be fertile.