• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Caique

Holly21

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Deana
Hello I am the mother of two tiels and my mother wants to get me a new bird for my birthday I do not want another tiel because I want to take baby steps to my dream bird. I have been thinking that the next bird I want to get is a caique... Any thoughts on if this is too big of a step?

saroj12

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
saroj
it will be the end of the peaceful life of your cockatiels. Caiques can be aggressive to other species. Mine is to my african grey.

Holly21

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Deana
My sister owns 2 cockatiels, 1 Quaker, and 1 Love bird. I have had a lot of experience raising her Quaker and my female cockatiel is so bonded to me that she attacks the Quaker when she is near me, that is another reason I am concerned is because I don’t want my tiel to attack a caique, if I get one, and when the caique is defending its self it hurts my tiel. My female tiel absolutely hates any other bird and loves me and only me. So that is my fear of a caique hurting my tiel that has been put through a lot of stress from her previous owner.

saroj12

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
saroj
well, my non aggressive female caique was attacked twice by my quaker. One time she fractured his foot. The next time she crushed bis beak. He now has a scissor beak. Each time she was defending herself and I wasn't being supervisory enough.

Holly21

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Deana