• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Caique Questions

ThatsFowlPlay

Hit the Road
Real Name
Jasmine
Hi, I'm really new to Avian Avenue and this is my first thread!!!! I'm thinking about putting down a deposit for a baby white bellied Caique and I need help finding out a perfect cage size. I found this cage, http://a.co/enqVqJc and don't know if the cage too big or too small, or the bar spacing is too large or too little. I read the reviews and answered questions but I'm a really indecisive person. Help!!!

Also I've been reading online about the personality of Caiques. Is there any difference of behavior of White bellied and Black head Caiques? Also I'm gone for 4-7 hours a day as I attend school, should I get a Caique if I'm gone for that long?

Laurie

The Best Bird Toys
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Laurie
Hi there and welcome!

I would say the cage is definately too small. It is only 22x22 inside. They list the exterior dimensions with seed gaurds which is deceiving as tis is not space for the birds.

You could try a flight cage which is 32x22. You'll need space for all the toys.

If it is an option at all I highly recommend 2 caiques they make the best friends for one another and it's twice the fun for you.

I keep mine in pairs so they can entertain one another so I have no worries about them being lonely.

I'll let someone with a single caique comment on their experience.

The white-bellied caiques seem to have a reputation for being a little more mellow and my experience supports that.

We always say the black on their heads us an extra dab of crazy on the black-heade birds. Lol!

Perriewinkle

Rollerblading along the road
Hi, I'm not a caique owner, but the cage is indeed too small. Caique are a rowdy bunch. Not for the faint of heart.. lol