• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Broken blood feather (I am a new bird mom)

Peach

Checking out the neighborhood
I just got my cockatiel a few days ago, he is 4 four months old, he is not tame and I am new to the parrots' world. Although I read a lot about tiels before getting one, I am still very inexperienced and my bird doesn't even trust me yet, I was planning to work on it after a few days of getting him to get used to his new surroundings, but he ended up breaking a blood feather this morning after getting startled from all the loud noise a school nearby was making because of an event. I tried to apply some cornstarch on the feather, to stop the bleeding, but I can't handle him well yet and it ended up making a bigger mess. I am about to go look for vets who might be open even though it's the week end. I don't know what to do, I'm panicking and I don't want my bird to die due to blood loss.

Ripshod

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Linden
If he's still bleeding you'll just have to get firm with him but not too firm.
If it's his left wing you'll want him in your left hand, and right for right. Imagine he's in your hand, thumb and forefinger either side of his head so he can't turn and bite, and your palm and other fingers over his wings and back. Quickly as you can open the bad wing, get some cornstarch on there and pinch where it's bleeding for as long as you can hold him. If this stops it let him back into his cage, calmly. If his feather is broken so it's hanging loose you can trim it later. Your job now is to get him calm and reward him for not biting.