• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Bird mash...need suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vega

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Joni
Hey guys, I'm getting ready to make a new batch of birdie mash and I want to change it up a bit...but I'm drawing a blank.

I use sweet potato as the base, so that's a must.

Normally my mash consists of:
corn - from frozen
green beans - from frozen
peas - from frozen
cauliflower
broccoli
beans from bean soup mix
chopped walnut & almonds
red,green,orange peppers
brown rice
whole wheat pasta

I'd like to change it a bit because I've been feeding this same mix for a couple years now. But I'm at a loss as to what to take out and what to add in. I've noticed she's not eating much of the peppers or beans anymore, but I thought the beans were important and wasn't sure if I could eliminate those.

I did try last spring/summer to make a veggie chop (without the mashed sweet potatoes) and she wouldn't even touch it. For 3 months. So that mashed part is a must.

This will be frozen, so I need veggies that I can pat dry or don't carry excess fluid.

jmfleish

Cruising the avenue
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Jen