• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

All Living Things (R) PetSmart cage coating?

HeatherD

Meeting neighbors
Hello,

I've read a lot useful information on this forum before, but this is my first time posting.

Does anyone have experience with PetSmart brand cages All Living Things?

I just purchased a conure-sized cage (Skyscraper model 5264390) with an "easy-clean" tray. The instruction booklet in the package says to clean the cage using "a soft cloth or a Teflon-resistant scrubber."

I'm wondering if they would use Teflon or anything potentially unsafe in the cage coating?

All Living Things makes other powder coated cages and the finish does look to be powder coated, but the cleaning information seemed strange. I called the phone number listed, and it was just PetSmart's number rather than the manufacturer, so they were unable to help (told me to try reading the box or doing an internet search haha).

I think it's probably safe, but I wanted to see if you guys have any experience with these cages.

Thanks in advance for your help! :)

HeatherD

Meeting neighbors
Update: I tried an internet search for "Teflon-resistant scrubber" and all the top search results were for Prevue cages, which is reassuring. So I guess that means there is a good chance that Prevue makes this cage for PetSmart, or that the manufacturer copied Prevue's cleaning instructions. The design has some similarities to a Prevue cage, so I figured it was a knockoff of their designs but maybe they are the manufacturer, which would indicate the cage is powder coated if that is true.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Banner Hoarder
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]