• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

advice: rehoming my cockatiel

ckiehl26

Meeting neighbors
Hi everyone, im making this post for advice. I'm was thinking about possibly rehoming my 6 year old female cockatiel :( (which is absolutely devastating for me to even think about). For some context, I got her when I was in high school after my brother got a cockatiel (who unfortunately died) and we've been best buds ever since. she's the sweetest little girl and always just wants to cuddle and get head rubs. during my senior year of high-school my parents got divorced and my mom was taking care of the birds (we had multiple at the time). unfortunately my mom was unable to care for her well and so I wanted to be able to take her in as soon as I was able. I'm currently a sophomore at a university and ive had her here since I moved into my apartment in august. I absolutely love her to death. sadly she screams when I'm gone and I try to be at home as much as I can but it's so hard with classes, work, etc,. I also have been struggling because I find I miss out on so so many opportunities because I want to make sure I spend enough time with her (for example, whenever I'm not at class and work I spend my time alone in my room with her.) I feel like I'm unable to study with friends, spend the night at my girlfriends, or go anywhere because I need to be home with her. please please don't get me wrong, I love her to death and she is my precious baby, but sometimes I just get so sad because I feel like she is so lonely and I don't really have a life. I probably won't end up rehoming her cause I love her and have always firmly believed that pets are a commitment no matter what and it's my job to always take care of her. however, I don't think I would have made the same choice when I was 15 knowing that I'd have her in college - I really thought she would stay