• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Wing clipping

Fate

Sitting on the front steps
Real Name
Bill
Fate had just molted her already clippped wing feathers. How long should I wait before getting her wings clipped again if I should at all. Any response will be welcomed as I am fairly new at being an avian owner.

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Hi Bill :)

You will find that once a bird can fly, they are much happier and independant. Have a read of these articles: Should I clip my birds wings?
They are a very good read, definitely worth taking the time to have a look.

malibu

Strolling the yard
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Maddie
Fate had just molted her already clippped wing feathers. How long should I wait before getting her wings clipped again if I should at all. Any response will be welcomed as I am fairly new at being an avian owner.
Like the others said, just don't do it. Unless your bird had health problems like blindness I would stay away from clipping. When I had budgies I fell into the trap of clipping their wings and found that they were very unhappy. However after educating myself further I never clipped them again and my current lovebird has never been clipped. you can really see the difference in clipped and unclipped birds. There are a lot more benefits to flighted parrots than clipped

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez