• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Where Do I Start

T.C.

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Ty
So as of know, I've never cared for any young birds with the exception of wild birds that I rescued. How hard is it to start from an egg of a bird like the african grey, and raise it onward from that point? I have no experience in doing so, so I'm curious where the best place to start learning would be. A google search just leads me to people selling rather than obtaining information on doing it. All of my birds I bought as young adults, but I think it would be awesome to entirely raise one up myself once I get the time and knowledge.

Thanks In Advance.

Zygodactylous

Meeting neighbors
I’ve raised thousands of wild birds as a volunteer and professional wildlife rehabilitator and licensed vet tech, including from the egg, and let me tell you—I don’t feel qualified to raise a parrot from the egg.

Parrots are intensely social beings. They need a flock to learn how to be parrots properly. Even if you had unlimited money for a good quality egg incubator with egg turner, a candler, a neonate incubator, proper feeding equipment, training to feed correctly, the ability to stay home all day and feed all day every day every 1/2-1 hour for weeks, and 24/7 access to avian veterinary help if needed, you need to look into the pros and cons of 100% hand raising. The more research we do, the more we find that parent raising is so much better for the babies psychologically and physically for the rest of their lives. If you want to experience raising a bird from the egg, see if you can volunteer at a wild bird rescue.

Zygodactylous

Meeting neighbors
A good, well-researched article on pros and cons: Hand-raised or Parent-raised: Which is Better for the Birds? | IVIS