• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

What's going on with the feathers?

PetFoster

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Julie
So I have no experience with AG's, but yesterday, on behalf of my local bird club, I picked up a surrendered TAG from his elderly owners. He is 28, and was on a seed diet, so I have slowly started to introduce him to chop and no-sugar pellets. He belonged to the gentleman's first wife, who died 11 years ago, and he has not been handled much since then. His owner said he has to wear gloves and usually towel him to move him (he has only been to the vet once for a beak trim), though he does go in and out of his cage as he pleases in their bird room. I was told he "doesn't like toys", so I am also starting to work with him on that, but I know that everything is going to be really scary and strange for a while. (Others in my bird club have told me to "make" him step up, and get used to being bitten, but instinct tells me this is not a good idea. He has lunged at my fingers and grazed them already.) I could go on, but my main question here is about his tail feathers. They have kind of a scalloped appearance to them. Is this normal? Were they clipped this way? Or is he barbering? Any tips or thoughts you could share would be much appreciated!
IMG_0273.jpeg IMG_0273.jpeg

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
After doing some googling of African grey rear ends, it seems that those are natural feather shapes :) I am not sure what the purpose is specifically. Quakers, for example, have little nubs on some of their flight feathers that allow them to hover and fly backwards slightly. So there is likely some sort of specialization with this shape as well.

CAG.jpg

Snowghost