• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Trust from my cockatiel

Juney

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
June Lanovaz
I'm new to the avian world and loving it except my Koko is a female 1 year old white faced cockatiel and she has lived with me for 2 months now and she hates me! I know I need to be more patient. She doesn't like step up plan and she hates going back into her cage. Do u see where I'm going with this? She wants out of her cage and despises going back into it with my assistance. She flies all over and I have a hard time catching her to put her back into her cage. I have to use my hands to catch her and bring her to her cage with alot of squirreling! Please help I feel so helpless for her! I don't want to hurt her and she has shown some aggressiveness the poor thing. Right now she is screaming for me to let her out of her cage but I've tried treats, hand feeding to cohers back to her cage. Please anyone, help! I love her so much! She is a great companion for me as I live alone with no other pets and she fills in the loneliness! God Bless to all my avian friends.

Khizz

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Welcome to you and Jojo!

she has lived with me for 2 months now and she hates me! I know I need to be more patient
She doesn't hate you! And tiels are not the types to hold grudges. You need to take a breath, and take a step back. I have had mine for a year almost, they aren't hand tame but I can usually get them to do what I need them to do, with a bit of thinking on my part.

She wants out of her cage and despises going back into it with my assistance.